So Many WIPs and an Emergency Project

Funny, I went on vacation and still (mostly) kept up with this blog, but then we came home and I didn’t post at all last week, not even the easy Wordless Wednesday & TBT. I have plenty of knitting-related projects to talk about, though.

I took my Old Town cardigan on vacation hoping to chug through the sleeves, which I finished over this past weekend. I also took along a smaller one-off project that I still haven’t added to Ravelry: a cuff and choker using an interesting stitch pattern, crochet cotton, and size 0 (2mm) needles. I made the cuff first and then wasted a day stringing beads on the crochet cotton for the choker.

Untitled
Cuff

Beading didn’t go as expected; really I need to string beads on both legs of each stitch or pull an entire stitch through the bead because of the stitch pattern. I’d rather do the latter, but the beads I had on hand were too small for this, so I did what anyone would do – researched beads and ordered some 6/0 beads, which should be big enough for the crochet cotton, along with what I hear is a handy tool, the Beadle Needle, from EarthFaire. The beads and the Beadle Needle are here, but I have other things I need and want to work on before I dive back into the cuff and choker.

Untitled
My design plan for the choker and the beading fail

While on vacation, I visited Salty Yarns on the boardwalk in Ocean City, MD and came away with yarn to make hats (and maybe mitts) for my boys (Mirasol K’acha) and a Cheshire Cat gradient mini skein sock yarn kit for my Mom, who just had her birthday. She loves purple; I had a hard time choosing between the Mimsy and Phantomwise colorways and almost got both, but came away in the end with Phantomwise.

Untitled

When I got home and started thinking more seriously about my Mom’s gift. She’s been knitting a long time but mainly with worsted weight craft store yarn (meaning: acrylic). Knitting sock yarn is new for her and she’s not really online, so I can’t just tell her to look on Ravelry to see what other people have done with their Wonderland Yarns – I’d have to do that myself and choose, which I did. Out of all the possibilities, I think she’ll like the Dreambird KAL best. She doesn’t like things close around her neck, lace, or frilly things so I think this is a good choice from that perspective. I also think it’s a good match skills-wise; the short rows might be challenging, but challenging is good. The only thing I worry about is that the needle size, US 2 1/2 (3mm), is going to be a mental stumbling block.

As with the beading project, in order for Mom to make the Dreambird, I needed another hank of yarn for the background color and needles. Webs to the rescue – Madeline Tosh Merino Light in Ink is on the way with needles and two Lavishea lotion bars (one for her, one for me) because they work really well and aren’t greasy.

There’s more! But not much more … just two more projects:

Before we left on vacation, my fingers slipped and I ordered a Bohus kit from AngoraGarnet – The Green Wood arrived on Saturday. I wanted to start on it immediately, but I was almost done with the sleeves for Old Town, so I made myself finish those first. And I made myself sew hooks and eyes, my choice of fastener, on the choker and cuff. Unfortunately, I managed to cut a strand of the crochet cotton on the cuff while trying to correct the placement of one of the hooks. I’ve set it aside to repair later in favor of winding all the yarn for the Green Wood and swatching.

Untitled
AngoraGarnet yarn for the Green Wood: 50% merino, 50% angora, 100% soft and fine

The last project is kind of an emergency of my own making. A friend of mine is expecting her second baby in 3 weeks. We’re both really bad at keeping in touch and setting up get togethers, but I reached out to her yesterday and set up a lunch for Saturday. For her first baby, a little girl, I knew she was going with an owl theme and came up with The Owl Honeycomb Blanket, my first pattern. But for this baby, a boy, I don’t think she’s chosen a theme. I’ve been thinking about creating another cabled baby blanket, but also kept thinking that I have plenty of time to do that.

Well, my procrastination got the better of me once again. Yes, I’ve been here before, though last time I had all 3 weeks and made Super Quick (boy do I wish I’d taken notes). I’d really like to have the blanket done by our lunch on Saturday, so I’ve been to Jo-Ann already today and am ready to make the magic happen again with 3 giant skeins of Bernat Handicrafter cotton. I think I’m going to write a post every day (or nearly every day) with my progress. We’re taking my oldest son to college Thursday-Friday, so I’ll have 3+ hours of car knitting each day. And this will be a good distraction from and consolation for the fact that we’re taking my oldest son to college.

Author: madgeface

I knit, crochet, spin, and have done some experimenting with weaving and natural dye. I’m also a technical writer, mom to 3 boys, and enjoy gardening.

9 thoughts on “So Many WIPs and an Emergency Project”

    1. Oh, I’m not so sure you should follow my lead; I typically try to avoid having more than 2 projects on my needles at once, but I totally didn’t factor in this emergency blanket. Hopefully I’ll finish it by Saturday!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

