Emergency Project: The Conclusion

This is one in a series of posts about an emergency (of my own making) project – here’s the post that started it allthe first update, the second update, the third update.

IMG_6295
Finished!

There it is in all it’s glory: the finished blanket, slightly squished to fit on the couch cushions. I have maybe 1/8th of each skein left. I wove in the last end late yesterday afternoon but could have easily finished it on Thursday if I had taken it on the trip, though I opted instead to take smaller projects. That’s 5 (4) days to make a baby blanket, somewhere between 30-40 hours. Granted, it’s a thick, heavy baby blanket, but a blanket nonetheless.

IMG_6299But I couldn’t let the color stand. I tossed the finished blanket in the washer and dashed off to JoAnn for some dye. I was planning on using one of the liquid Rit dyes but the colors just seemed blah. Tulip jumped on a marketing opportunity and has started to package some of their dyes in a yarn dying kit, sold in a display with undyed cotten yarn, but those colors and the colors in the mothership display (the individual dye rack) were too close to neon for me. I ended up bringing home 3 packets of Dylon dye, in 2 colors. Please note, I haven’t used these dyes before – last time I used Jacquard Acid Dye and I’ve done a bunch of natural dyeing and plenty of fabric makeovers with Rit, both liquid and powder.

The Dylon directions involve stirring the dye pot (with the thing you’re dyeing in it) occasionally for 10 minutes and then constantly for 45 minutes. I don’t have that kind of patience. Dylon, unlike acid dye, is set with table salt (Rit varies depending on the fiber you’re dyeing), so I weighed the appropriate amount of salt (12oz) and dumped it in my front loading washer. Then I carefully cut open all 3 dye packets at once and emptied them onto the salt mountain. Finally, I added the still-damp blanket, closed the door, and ran it on my washer’s Deep Steam cycle.

I immediately ran it through another wash cycle with detergent without opening the washer. At the end of that cycle, I opened it up to see the blanket artfully spread on the back of the washer drum:

IMG_6301
Blocking by washer

When I pulled it out, there was some yarn barf that I stupidly didn’t take a picture of – one of my bound off edges came undone somehow, I’m not sure what I did to cause it because the yarn tail was still securely woven in. I tossed the blanket in the dryer (and ran the washer empty to get rid of any remaining dye) and after the blanket dried, repaired the wonky edge. I tossed it back into the washer again, this time with some dark colored beach towels; I really don’t want the dye to leach onto my friend’s laundry. So, here’s the final blanket this morning:

IMG_6305

And a closeup:

IMG_6306

I like it much much more all blue. The uniform color makes the stitch pattern stand out while still being slightly variegated and interesting. Here’s a comparison shot of the finished blanket and the finished dyed blanket, almost matched up side by side:
Left: finished blanket before washing, dyeing, and drying. Right: after. Details on my blog soon/later today. #knittersofinstagram #knitting #knitdesign #knittersofig #yarndyeing #dylondye

I just got back from lunch with my friend; her doctor has tentatively scheduled a c-section on October 6 for her and her little boy. She looks beautiful but miserable because it’s so effing hot out – it’s 95ºF/35ºC but with humidity factored in it feels like 111º/44º. She has a 2 year old daughter and babysits her 1 year old twin nephews during the week and boy oh boy is she ready to have this baby.

Anyway, she really liked the blanket. I also gave her the Herringbone Rainbow BB Blanket because IMO the one I made this week is too thick & heavy for a baby blanket. So why did I make it? The last one that I made similar to this, Super Quick, my sister in-law loved – it worked really well for nap time to sort of weigh my nephew down so he wasn’t as restless as his older brother was. So I thought that out of 2 blankets, my friend would at least be able to use 1. She’s very happy with both blankets; her house is super cold and drafty in the winter – old windows – so they’ll be very useful. Hooray!

And now I hope to spend the afternoon catching up on blogs so I know what everyone’s been up to while I’ve been knitting all week.

Author: madgeface

I knit, crochet, spin, and have done some experimenting with weaving and natural dye. I’m also a technical writer, mom to 3 boys, and enjoy gardening.

18 thoughts on “Emergency Project: The Conclusion”

  1. It turned out fantastic… I didn’t mind the color before dyeing… but I love it post dye. I also love that you have still some variation in color. The pattern is now much easier to see and awesome… great blanket… told my wife about this project and you having less than a week… (she said poor lady… I mentioned I was hoping you would dye it… and I am glad you did so I could see the out come… my wife said “beaucoup mieux” when seeing the before and after pictures)… admire all of the talent you have shown

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m blushing – thank you for being interested and for following along all week. I’m not sure it was talent or luck, particularly with the dye, but I agree, l’apres, c’est beaucoup mieux que l’avant. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congratulations on getting it done! It looks so great! I loved it before dyeing, and love it equally post dyeing. I’m so impressed that you dye your knits … I’ve never done anything like that, but going to keep it in mind for the future if I’m not happy with the color of something!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Katherine! I almost left it as-is because of your comments last week, but the couldn’t help myself when I ended up having time to dye. This is second time I overdyed an FO successfully, but my first time using this dye. I got lucky that it turned out well!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Love the dyed blue. On a tangential note, my daughter came across the blanket you made her several years ago. (I had packed it away with other handmade items.) It is now back on her bed. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

