NaPoWriMo 29: Suburbia

I know, I know – April is over, it’s May FFS – National Poetry Writing Month is so … so last month. I started a few days late and I want to come out of this with 30 poems. I actually was thinking of turning it into a 100 day project, but I’m not sure how feasible that’s going to be given everything going on between now and mid-July (middle son and nephew both graduating high school, 2 week trip to S. Korea at the end of June, and more). So … we’ll see how I feel about this in a few days. 🙂

 

Suburbia

Strip malls done tastefully, towne centers even,
with parking lots discretely hidden, ruin sunsets.
They’re all the same, with an anchor
store, nail salon, restaurant, and more. Ships
that aren’t going anywhere, but that might take you
to the American version of China or Thailand.
We all stream home to identical houses
on identical streets, knowing everyone else’s floorplan
even if it is a mirror.
Oh sure, you can personalize the little things
but don’t kid yourself: it’s all the same,
you’re all the same, the only difference between you
and your neighbor are niggling details strangers
don’t care about.

Author: madgeface

I knit, crochet, spin, and have done some experimenting with weaving and natural dye. I’m also a technical writer, mom to 3 boys, and enjoy gardening.

Leave a Reply

