The Week July 10-July 16

Last week:

  • Carry on with Aranami/Imanara.
    Check.
  • Finish the pinks in the Fox Embroidery project.
    Almost! I have four more small things to embroider with pink.
  • Spin for Tour de Fleece every day.
    Check check check check, etc. I’ve surprised myself by getting a little into it too, so my spinning mojo is coming back.
  • Go to TKD once or more.
    Nope. But I picked my family (well, 3/4 of them) up from the airport and they’re all black belts so that kind of counts! (But not really.)
  • Get the house ready & grocery shop for the return of my family from S. Korea.
    I got the house ready but I didn’t grocery shop until today – I’d rather buy and make stuff that they want, not what I think they might want.

In other news, I also got a commission for The Yarn Officeย (me) to make a shawl for an old college friend! I ordered the yarn and started planning for it. Hurray!

And I decided what to make my friends Stephanie & Tommy for their baby: baby mitts and hats and (maybe) washcloths. I knit two wee pairs of mitts; I plan to knit a medium and larger size, too. I do need to brush up on my elastic skills; the 1×1 rib of the cuff isn’t elastic enough to keep them on a baby’s wrist.

img_9718
Baby mitts for Steph & Tommy’s baby. She knows I made them (she follows me on Twitter and Instagram) but I’m keeping the color a secret until after they receive them.

This week:

  • Begin knitting the commissioned shawl. One of the yarns has already arrived and I can get started on the first part of it before the second skein arrives.
  • Spin for Tour de Fleece every day.
  • Go to TKD even though I don’t want to, even though it’s going to be hot and the dojang doesn’t have AC, go even if Julia doesn’t go.
  • Drink at least 3 Nalgene bottles of water each day (32oz) so I can handle the heat and TKD.

I don’t want to overload myself; that commissioned piece is the most important thing on the list and I don’t want to get distracted or bogged down with other projects.

I hope you all have a good week and that if you’re spinning for Tour de Fleece that you enjoy it as much I have been enjoying it, which is a lot!

 

Author: madgeface

I knit, crochet, spin, and have done some experimenting with weaving and natural dye. Iโ€™m also a technical writer, mom to 3 boys, and enjoy gardening.

4 thoughts on “The Week July 10-July 16”

    1. Thanks! Conveniently for me, the semicolon is my favorite punctuation mark and the symbol for Project Semicolon (which sounds silly & obvious but I can’t think of a better way to put it). I got it with 2 friends who’ve also dealt with depression so we all match. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

